WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ Readily available to All: How to Use

Express News

By Express News Desk|Upgraded: November 01, 2017

Once they update the app to the most current variation, WhatsApp users can now erase sent messages

WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ Readily available to All: How to Use

Highlights

  • WhatsApp Delete for Everyone rolled out globally
  • The function readily available across Android, iOS, and Windows Phones
  • Both the sender and recipient must run latest WhatsApp variation

WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature that enables users to erase sent messages is now rolling out to all users, a week after it dripped out to select users of the app. One of the greatest use cases of the Delete for Everyone function can be when you send a message to the wrong chat or if the message sent out includes an error.

The Facebook-owned service confirms messages that have been successfully erased for everyone will be replaced with “This message was erased” in your receivers’ chats. Likewise, if you see “This message was erased” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everybody.

How to get WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ function, and how it works
– Make sure you the current version of WhatsApp is downloaded on your phone. The recipient need to also have the latest version installed for the Delete for Everyone function to work.
– Select the message( s) you want to delete
– Tap the erase/ trash icon on the screen
– Now the discussion box will reveal the new option Delete for Everyone

As soon as you hit the Delete for Everyone discussion box, the sent out message will be changed with “You erased this message”. Keep in mind that the function will not work if the other person is not on the latest version of WhatsApp; in this case, receivers may see the message before it’s erased or if removal was not effective.

WhatsApp states that the function will apply only if the user is quick enough. The company describes that users can just erase messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending out. This suggests that as soon as seven minutes have actually passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.

Apart from ‘Delete for Everyone’, WhatsApp has actually renamed the regular delete option, calling it Delete for Me. This, as before, enables users to delete the message they’ve sent or received from the gadget.

To erase messages on your own, users can visit the chat containing the message they want to delete and tap and hold the message to delete multiple messages at the same time. In this case, users will need to use tap Delete (the trash icon) at the top of the screen, then choose Delete for Me.