Selectors report squad for Champions Trophy, Rohit Sharma to return

Express News Global

By PTI | Published: 08th May 2017 12:36 PM

India's Rohit Sharma, right, plays a shot as New Zealand's wicketkeeper BJ Watling responds amid their fifth and most recent one day global cricket coordinate in Visakhapatnam, India. | AP File Photo
India’s Rohit Sharma, right, plays a shot as New Zealand’s wicketkeeper BJ Watling responds amid their fifth and most recent one day global cricket coordinate in Visakhapatnam, India. | AP File Photo

NEW DELHI: Defending champions India today picked the attempted and tried in their Champions Trophy cricket squad with a fit-again Rohit Sharma coming back to the side while Manish Pandey beat youthful chinaman Kuldeep Yadav as the fifteenth part.

Rohit, who has recuperated from a thigh harm, made a rebound as selectors gave due weightage to his round the year execution.

In general, the choice board, headed by MSK Prasad, kept confidence in the squad which vanquished England in a home arrangement prior this year.

India will play their opening match of the Champions Trophy, to be held in England, against main opponents Pakistan on June 4. The occasion itself will get in progress on June 1.

Pandey has made it as an additional batsman in the squad to be driven by Virat Kohli. Prasad said the selectors genuinely considered Kuldeep Yadav too before he was put on the standby rundown.

“We unquestionably considered the name of Kuldeep. He would have been an unexpected bundle yet whether we would have played with two spinners is a question. Since Yuvraj (Singh) and Kedar (Jadhav) can bowl turn, he barely passed up a great opportunity,” Prasad clarified after the determination board meeting here.

A portion of alternate names that were examined truly were guardian batsmen Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Shardul Thakur and Suresh Raina. Alongside Kuldeep, these four are likewise on the standby rundown.

Prasad made it clear that despite the fact that IPL is a chief local competition, the execution of players in the occasion can’t be the sole criteria for choosing a squad for a 50-over competition.

“We regard IPL yet in the more drawn out arrangement, we need to likewise consider the English conditions that we are playing in. Not simply IPL but rather one needs to consider the execution of most recent one year additionally in such a major competition,” Prasad said.

Without any shocks in the group, Prasad said it was a simple group to lift as it has gotten down to business well over the most recent four months.

“May be one place all over. Be that as it may, this is the best side.”

Veteran opener Gautam Gambhir, who has been performing admirably in the IPL, was not in any case examined.

“Starting at now, we have picked Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma as openers and Ajinkya Rahane is the move down opener,” Prasad answered when gotten some information about Gambhir.

Chief off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who has avoided the IPL attributable to a games hernia harm, has been incorporated into the squad.

Clarifying the choice, Prasad said Ashwin’s damage was not that genuine and he only required some rest.

“The damage was not genuine. The establishment was sufficiently generous to tune in to our demand to rest him. Rest is the thing that Ashwin required as the last diversion that India played, he was there. That shows he is fit dislike other people who are getting restored after surgery,” Prasad said.

Inquired as to whether Virat Kohli or Ravindra Jadeja required some rest from the IPL, Prasad reacted in the negative.

“Virat didn’t play the last Test and furthermore the initial few matches in IPL. The more he plays, it is better for him. We have additionally offered Jadeja a reprieve. (Be that as it may, considering how fit he is, it wasn’t an issue,” he said.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni remained India’s first decision wicketkeeper.

The Squad:

Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Manish Pandey.

StandBy: Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Shardul Thakur, Suresh Raina.